Buhari Considers Lockdown of Nasarawa, Tarauni and 18 other Local Govt Areas

INFOMEDIA – President Muhammad Buhari is considering a lockdown of Tarauni and Nassarawa local government areas in Kano state along with 18 others across Nigeria in the next phase of eased lockdown in the country.

INFOMEDIA reports that the Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, told journalists at the Presidential Villa on Monday that the 20 local governments account for 60% of COVID-19 cases in the country.

According to data earlier released by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), 11 out of the 20 local government areas are in Lagos State.

They include Lagos Mainland Area, Mushin, Eti-Osa, Oshodi/Isolo, Ikeja, Apapa, Amuwo Odofin, Alimosho, Kosofe, Lagos Island and Surulere, in Lagos state.

Others are Tarauni and Nassarawa (Kano), Oredo (Edo), Ado Odo/Ota (Ogun), Dutse (Jigawa), Maiduguri (Borno),  Bauchi (Bauchi), Abuja Municipal (FCT) and Katsina (Katsina).

Mr Mustapha, who is the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, said affected state governments would implement what he called “precision lockdown.”

He noted that number of confirmed cases has not yet peaked in Nigeria.

Mr Mustapha therefore urged all stakeholders to ensure compliance with all non-pharmaceutical interventions.

Mr Mustapha also gave an insight into the reason behind the low fatality rate in Nigeria.

He said 80% of the infected persons are between the ages of 31 to 40 years, which he described as a very active part of the population.

submit guest post web design