BUK Shortlists Four Professors Vying  for Vice Chancellor Post

INFOMEDIA – The Selection Board for the appointment of a new Vice-Chancellor for Bayero University, Kano has shortlisted four  distinguished Professors vying for the top position in the University.

The candidates were selected out of the many persons that were either contacted by the Search Team and/or responded to a newspaper advertisement as the eligible candidates for the post.

The tenure of the incumbent Vice-Chancellor, Professor Muhammad Yahuza Bello who was appointed on 17 August 2015 for a five-year non-renewable term is due for expiration on August 17, 2020.

According to BUK Bulletin, already, in line with the guidelines for the appointment of a new Vice-Chancellor, the process had begun since early this year.

It said in a letter conveying the names of the shortlisted candidates signed by the Secretary of the Selection Board and also the Registrar of the University, Hajiya Fatima Binta Mohammed, revealed that three of the candidates were from Bayero University BUK while the other  is from King Faisal University, in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

The letter which was addressed to the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Congregation listed the three other shortlisted candidates as; Professor Adamu Idris Tanko; Professor Sagir Adamu Abbas and Professor Dalhatu Balarabe Yahaya all from Bayero University, Kano.

Professor Mohammed Dikko Aliyu who currently lectures at King Faisal University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia got a B.Sc Electrical Engineering from Ahmad Bello University, Zaria in 1988, an M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering both from the Louisiana State University, the USA in 2001 and 2002.

His research interests and areas of specialization include Nonlinear control and estimation,  Robotics, Signal Processing, and Mathematical Physics.

The letter reads, “I write to inform you that after due process of the Law with regard to the selection process of appointing a new Vice-Chancellor for Bayero University, Kano, the Selection Board has identified and shortlisted four (4) eligible candidates for the post.

They are Professor Adamu Idris Tanko, Bayero University, Kano; Professor Sagir Adamu Abbas, Bayero University, Kano; Professor Mohammed Dikko Aliyu, Department of Electrical Engineering, King Faisal University, University Drive, Al-Ahsa, Saudi Arabia and Professor Dalhatu Balarabe Yahaya, Bayero University, Kano.’’

The Registrar, in the letter, said, the Selection Board will have an interactive session with all the shortlisted candidates on Saturday, 8 August 2020.

The Registrar also directed the Standing Committee on Congregation to invite the candidates to meet the University’s Congregation for the traditional parley on Wednesday, 5 August 2020.

Meanwhile, all the candidates have intensified their mobilization strategies and lobbying of support from members of the University community through holding consultation meetings at both departmental, faculty, and centre/school levels with various stakeholders.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here