Nigeria has placed travel restrictions on entry into the country from 13 countries with high-burden of coronavirus.

The countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France, and Japan.

The country also announced the temporary suspension of the visa-on-arrival policy

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and chairman of the Presidential Task Force for the Control of Covid-19, Boss Mustapha, announced the decision Wednesday morning at a press briefing.

“The restriction will come into effect from Saturday for four weeks, subject to review, “ he said.

Mustapha said the new measures were taken after an assessment of the global situation.

According to him, the affected countries had over 1,000 cases domestically.

The SGF said, “All persons arriving in Nigeria who might have visited these countries 15 days prior to such arrival will be subjected to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days.

“The Federal Government is temporarily suspending the issuance of all visas on arrival.

The Federal Government is also counselling all Nigerians to cancel or postpone all nonessential travels to these countries.

The Federal Government urges public health authorities of countries with a high burden to conduct diligent departure screening of passengers and also endorse this travel advisory to their nationals to postpone travels to Nigeria.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here